Kalen DeBoer Named Co-Coach Of The Year

Co-Coaches of the Year, presented by Nextiva: Kalen DeBoer, Washington and Jonathan Smith, Oregon State

For just the Fifth time in conference history, two coaches have shared the Coach of the Year award and the first time since 2015 when Washington State’s Mike Leach and Stanford’s David Shaw were co-winners.  DeBoer becomes just the second Washington head coach to claim this honor, joining the legendary Don James who won it three times (1980, 1990 co-winner, 1991).  Smith becomes the fourth Oregon State head coach to win this award (Mike Riley- 2008, Dennis Erickson- 2000, Dave Kragthrope- 1989).

  • DeBoer enters bowl season at 10-2, becoming the first Washington head coach to win more than eight games in his first season with the Huskies.  With a win in the Alamo Bowl, DeBoer would become the fourth UW coach all-time to win 11 games in a season (Don James, Rick Neuheisel, Chris Petersen).
  • Has led an offensive revival with the Huskies.  Washington currently ranks in the Top 5 in FBS in passing offense (367.7 ypg – 1st), total offense (521.7 ypg, 2nd), scoring offense (40.8 ppg, T-4th), offensive first downs (329, 4th) and 3rd down conversion percentage (.571, 1st).
  • Smith has led the Beavers to a 9-3 record entering their bowl game with a chance to reach 10 wins for the third time in school history if they defeat Florida in the SFS Distribution Las Vegas Bowl.
  • Made their first ever appearance in the College Football Playoff rankings and were 14th in their final Top 25.  Ranked in the AP Top 25 for the first time since 2012.
  • Named AFCA Region 5 Coach of the Year

Leave a Reply