PER LAFC  and  Whitecaps RELEASE

The Los Angeles Football Club (LAFC) became the quickest team to reach 100 points in since 2000 following a 6-1 victory over Vancouver Whitecaps FC on Saturday night at Banc of California Stadium. With the win, LAFC extended its home unbeaten streak to nine games in 2019 and remains in first place in the MLS standings with a 13-2-4 (43 points) record.


Vancouver struck first in the 5th minute of the game after Yordy Reyna capitalized on a miscue from the LAFC defense, but the Black & Gold would go into the break with the 2-1 lead following two corner-kick goals – an own goal in the 35th minute and a header by Adama Diomande six minutes later. 


Moments after the restart, Mark-Anthony Kaye struck a left-footed shot from outside the box that bounced off the crossbar and into the back of the net. Carlos Vela would score numbers 18 and 19 in the season, before Diego Rossi added his 10th of the season to reach double digit goals for the second consecutive season. 


LAFC is back at Banc of California Stadium on Wednesday, July 10 as the Club gets set to host the Portland Timbers in the Quarterfinals of the 2019 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup. The match is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT and will be broadcast on ESPN+.



Referee: Allen Chapman
Attendance: 22,472

Scoring Summary
5’ – VAN – Yordy Reyna (Jon Erice)
35’ – LAFC – Andy Rose (own goal)
41’ – LAFC – Adama Diomande (Carlos Vela)
46’ – LAFC – Mark-Anthony Kaye (Tristan Blackmon)
54’ – LAFC – Carlos Vela (Eduard Atuesta)
70’ – LAFC – Carlos Vela
72’ – LAFC – Diego Rossi

Possession: LAFC 67.4% – VAN 32.6%
Shots: LAFC 31 – VAN 5
Shots on Goal: LAFC 14 – VAN 3
Saves: LAFC 2 – VAN 9
Fouls: LAFC 9 – VAN 7
Offsides: LAFC 1 – VAN 1
Corners: LAFC 10 – VAN 3
Duels won: LAFC 40 – VAN 37
Tackles won: LAFC 10 – VAN 8

7’ – VAN – Erik Godoy
48’ – VAN – Yordy Reyna
80’ – LAFC – Eduard Atuesta

85’ – VAN – Fredy Montero

Los Angeles Football Club
23.Pablo Sisniega; 27.Tristan Blackmon, 5.Dejan Jakovic, 4.Eddie Segura (2.Jordan Harvey 74’), 13.Mohamed El-Munir; 14.Mark-Anthony Kaye, 20.Eduard Atuesta (7.Latif Blessing 81’), 24.Lee Nguyen; 10.Carlos Vela, 99.Adama Diomande (22.Rodolfo Zelaya 62’), 9.Diego Rossi

Substitutes not used
40.Phillip Ejimadu, 3.Steven Beitashour, 18.Josh Pérez, 21.Christian Ramirez

Vancouver Whitecaps FC
16.Maxime Crépeau; 28.Jake Nerwinski, 22.Érik Godoy, 2.Doneil Henry, 15.Andy Rose, 46.Brett Levis (94.Victor “PC” Giro 74’); 4.Inbeom Hwang (50.Theo Bair 66’), 6.Jon Erice ©, 31.Russell Teibert; 7.Lucas Venuto (12.Fredy Montero 56’), 29.Yordy Reyna

Substitutes not used
18.Zac MacMath, 8.Felipe Martins, 13.Derek Cornelius, 23.Scott Sutter


Leave a Reply